Experimenting with sprouting

IMG_0216

I have been wanted to try out sprouting grains for a while now, but the last time I tried sprouting it was a spectacular fail. I was trying to sprout spelt grains, and basically the whole lot ended up smelling funky and I threw it all out. But this time I tried sprouting buckwheat groats – and after two days I had success! For instructions on sprouting, My New Roots is great. With my newly sprouted buckwheat, I decided to make a sweetly spiced winter porridge.

Spiced Buckwheat Porridge

approx 4 servings

3 cups sprouted buckwheat

1 cinnamon quill

sliver orange peel

5 cloves

small section star aniseed

Nut milk/cows milk/water (I used water)

Combine all ingredients in a pot and bring to the boil. Gently simmer for 10-15 mins until buckwheat is soft.

Serve with a healthy dollop of yoghurt or keffir (I used keffir), and a handful of berries. Add honey if you would like it sweeter.

Keep leftovers in the fridge or freezer. Simply defrost, add water, and warm through until liquid evaporates.

Leave a Reply

