Winter colours

IMG_0223

Have you ever seen such a pretty pie? My inadequate photography doesn’t quite do it justice, but I love love love the colours of this cabbage, walnut and red onion tart. I had some red cabbage in the fridge that needed using, and while I adore raw cabbage in a salad, I thought the winter weather called for something a bit more comforting. Plus, I was making dinner for my family, and I knew they wouldn’t appreciate raw cabbage as much as I do! I came across this tart in one of my favourite blogs – ‘Manger‘. I changed the recipe slightly, adding feta, spinach and celery leaves (that needed using). I also panicked at the end and decided to add a light custard of milk and egg to bind the ingredients. The result was lovely but unusual – for those who don’t like cabbage all that much, this tart might not be your thing!

Cabbage, walnut and red onion tart

Ingredients

1 quantity shortcrust pastry

1 quarter red cabbage

1 red onion sliced into rings

handful spinach

handful celery leaves

1/2 cup feta

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup milk or cream

1 egg

salt and pepper

dash olive oil or butter

Line a 22cm, 24cm or 26cm tart tin with shortcrust pastry. I used this recipe. (note: I pulsed the pastry in a food processor rather than using my hands). Blind bake as instructed.

Preheat oven to 180C.

Sautee the onion in butter or oil and salt and pepper until soft. Add the cabbage, celery leaves and spinach and gently sautee until wilted and tender, and all liquid has been absorbed. Pour this mixture into the prepared pastry crust. Dot fetta on top, a gently push into gaps in the cabbage mixture. Whisk egg and milk or cream together and pour over the cabbage mixture. Sprinkle the almonds on top and place tart in the oven for 15-20 mins. Serve warm with a nice salad, or even some sausages would be quite delicious!

 

I had some left over pastry, so quickly made this little cheese biscuits.

 

IMG_0221

 

Cheese biscuits

 

ingredients

pastry scraps

grated parmesan

 

Without fiddling too much, form the pastry scraps into a rectangle. Sprinkle parmesan over half of the pastry. Fold pastry over parmesan, and press gently to join the edges together. Cut into squares, and bake at 180C for about 15mins, or until golden. Serve with a glass of wine at the end of a long day.

 

Leave a Reply

