Brown rice risotto

IMG_0403

Wait, brown rice for a risotto? Sounds like it could never work, but I wanted to try. My Mum and I saw a recipe for a mushroom risotto that looked amazing, so when I was at home over the weekend I cooked up this little version for the two of us. I didn’t really want to use white rice, so I had a quick look online and saw that using brown rice in a risotto has been done before. Obviously it takes a bit longer, but the nutty brown rice was really really delicious with the earthy mushrooms. And I didn’t mind that it took a while – taylor swift, a beautiful kitchen, and my favourite view of all time = a pretty lovely way to spend my saturday afternoon.

Brown rice and mushroom risotto

Ingredients

1 cup rice (soaked overnight to speed up the absorption process)

1 onion

3 cloves garlic

a couple of handfuls of your favourite mushrooms

handful parsley

tbsp butter

parmesan

olive oil

salt and pepper

method

Saute onion in olive oil until soft. Add soaked rice and stir well until rice is warmed through. Season with salt and pepper, and add finely chopped garlic. Add 1/2 cup water and stir rice until all the water has been absorbed. Continue this process until rice is tender. I won’t lie, this took me about 40mins…its worth it I promise!

In the meantime, saute mushrooms in olive oil and maybe another garlic clove. Season with salt and pepper, and stir through parsley. Set aside until rice is ready.

When the rice is tender, stir through sauteed mushrooms, butter, and parmesan. The risotto should not be too dry.

Serve with more parmesan and chopped parsley.

Leave a Reply

