The cabbage crunch

IMG_0432

Cabbage got me through 2nd year of university. I’m not joking. The number of times I came back from class or work absolutely famished, and whipped up my favourite salad of cabbage, nuts/sunflower seeds, celery, tuna, currants and any other greenery floating around in my fridge, plus a yummy apple cider vinegar dressing is pretty monumental. I loved it.

Needless to say, times have changed and that salad doesn’t hold quite the appeal it once did. But I still love love love cabbage. I love its crunch, its versatility, and the fact that it costs me a few dollars for a huge head of cabbage that will survive in my fridge for days…ahem…weeks…

I’m actually surprised that this is the first time I’ve used cabbage as a wrap. Um hello, its the greatest idea ever! Its pretty much the easiest recipe – assemble a few yummy fillings and wrap it all up in a fabulously crunchy cabbage leaf. The Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook has a really scrumptious recipe that I have tried and would absolutely recommend.

Tonight I made a filling of brown rice, fennel pesto, tahini, lemon zest, and julienne zucchini. I also added a side of spicy fried tofu fingers, just because…well, they’re crunchy.

Cabbage wrap with spicy tofu fingers

Ingredients

2 large cabbage leaves

1/2 cup cooked rice

1 tbsp tahini

1 tsp fennel pesto

pinch lemon zest

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp miso paste

pepper

1/2 julienne zucchini

sprinkle of sesame seeds/poppy seeds

Method

Mix rice with all ingredients except cabbage and zucchini. The mixture should hold together nicely.

Place a dollop on each cabbage leaf. Top with zucchini and any other fillings that catch your fancy – grated beetroot, avocado etc etc.

As neatly as possible wrap the cabbage leaf as you would a spring roll.

Eat as is, or store in the fridge for up to two days.

Warning: eating these wraps should be done in forgiving company – you won’t look your most elegant.

Spicy tofu fingers

Ingredients

1 pack firm tofu

tbsp grated ginger

1 clove garlic

1 tbsp each tamari, sesame oil, shoyu (or other vinegar)

pepper and salt

1/2 cup chickpea flour

1-2 tbsp paprika

Method

Cut the block of tofu into fingers and marinate in a mixture of ginger, garlic, oils and vinegars, and salt and pepper for approx 30 mins

Drain and coat in a mixture of the paprika and flour. Fry gently in coconut oil until crispy

Serve at once with cabbage wraps!

note: I served the marinate as a dip for the wraps…

Leave a Reply

